top of page

Jesse from Montgomery Humane Society

Thank you for visiting Tails of Adoption. To kick start this blog, I want to share with you what / who started my passion for pet adoption -- my 6 year old fur baby, Jesse.

​ My senior year of high school, my dad and I had three beautiful dogs full of love. There was Lattie, a chocolate labradoodle, Ellie, our big black lab and finally, our youngest and most ferocious dog, Lilly the yorkie who fit right in with the big dogs.

At the beginning of that school year, both Ellie and Lattie passed away. The whole house was devastated. Lilly wouldn’t eat for days. Dad and I were worried about her health during this time and tried everything to make her happy agian.

About a month after Ellie passed, Lilly was still looking around the house for her bff's. I decided I would "just look" on the web for any dogs up for adoption. While searching the web I found the website for the Montgomery Humane Society. After searching through many photos of dogs looking for a home, a picture of a dog with a white belly and a smile on her face popped up.

My heart broke for her as I read her description. She was found by animal control in a neighborhood near a busy street with no collar.They included that black dogs were the hardest to get adopted. She had been at the shelter for a while and was having a hard time finding a home. She was described as a playful personality who would be a loving companion. Without hesitation I said "that’s my dog."

Now dad had been saying "we are not getting another dog" for weeks. I even believed him—until I saw that picture of Jesse.

I called dad and I asked him to take me to the humane shelter after he got off work. "Just for fun." I told him. He protested but then gave in under my agreeing that I would not ask to adopt a dog.

As soon as we got there I asked to see Jesse. Dad and I waited in the courtyard to meet her. When the door opened, Jesse ran out and fell in dad's lap, belly up. With tears in his eyes he said, "Where are the adoption papers?"

 

{This picture was taken the day we brought Jesse home}

 

We took Jesse home where she met her best friend, Lilly, who had a surprisingly big personality with her tiny body. Lilly began eating regularly again and found a new partner in crime.

Today, Jesse and Lilly are still best friends. They enjoy car rides, running in fields, eating slices of avocado (they are definitely unique) and the occasional pup-achino from Starbucks. Jesse has always fit right in to our family— cuddles, chewed up shoes and all!

Check out the Montgomery Humane Society website (attached) for more information about how to donate, volunteer, or adopt:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page